Department Awards & Honors

Anna K. Suter Scholarships

Professor Anna K. Suter was an advocate for students. She applauded academic success and encouraged many to persist with their degree objectives. Upon her death in 1982, a scholarship was established in her memory with assets from her estate. By naming the Department of Mathematical Sciences in her will, Professor Suter ensured that the next generation of mathematicians would be recognized for their achievements.

2012 winners: John S. Kraihanzel │ Sean W. Mooney │ Benjamin A. Roberts │ Alexander M. Stufflebeam

Dean of Science Scholar (School of Science)

The prestigious scholarship recognizes students for their academic excellence and future promise.

2012 winner: Caris B. Daily

Frank G. and Ernestine M. Lambertus Scholarship (School of Science)

In 1990, Mrs. Ernestine Lambertus established an endowed scholarship in honor of her husband, Frank, who was an advisor to the dean. This scholarship is awarded to a student who shows significant academic improvement over the previous year.

2012 winner: Elizabeth A. Eme

Math Major Spirit Award

This award is given to a math major who demonstrates strength and determination in pursuit of his or her degree. It is designed to recognize students who have persevered through difficult circumstances, have gone above and beyond in service to the university or department, or been an otherwise outstanding contributor to the learning community at IUPUI.

2012 winner: Sandy Pierce

Outstanding Graduate Student Awards

2012 Advanced Student: Amanda M. Harsy Ramsay
2012 Beginning Students: Shan Wang │ Shan Xiao
2012  Graduating Masters in Statistics: Heng Xu
2012 Student Teaching: James M. Carter

Outstanding Math Assistance Center Mentor and Tutor Award

2012 winner: Nicholas M. Novotny

Outstanding Seniors

2012 Actuarial Science Major winners: Patrick I. Hofer │ Alexander M. Stufflebeam
2012 Applied Math Major winner: Jake T. Zatecky
2012 Math Education Major winner: K. Annie Baugh
2012 Pure Math Major winner: Rebecca A. Platt

Yuri Abramovich Memorial Scholarship

The scholarship honors the late Dr. Abramovich as a colleague, mathematician and an educator. It supports students with an academic and career focus on mathematics.

2012 Winners: Jake Zatecky, Undergraduate │ Samuel Roth, Graduate Student

Faculty & Staff Awards

2012 Bernie Morrel Teaching Award: Roland Roeder, Ph.D.

2012 Associate Faculty Award recognizes outstanding contributions in the area of teaching by an associate faculty member: Suzanne M. Humphrey

2012 Trustee Teaching Awards honor individuals who have a positive impact on learning through the direct instruction of students, especially undergraduates: Alexey S. Kuznetsov John L. Miller

2010 Indiana Professor of the Year: Sponsored by the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching and administered by the Council for Advancement and Support of Education, the U.S. Professor of the Year awards recognize professors for their influence on teaching and their commitment to undergraduate students. It is one of the most prestigious awards honoring undergraduate teaching and mentoring: Jeffrey Xavier Watt