Biology Advisor Honored as IUPUI Woman Leader

Release Date: 
Apr 5 2013

A longtime advisor and supporter of the Department of Biology at the School of Science at IUPUI was among several women honored recently during the Women's History Month Leadership Awards.

Jane Alexander, student and alumni services coordinator with the Department of Biology, said she "was totally blown away" to receive the award.

"I did not expect to be nominated and certainly did not expect to win the award. But, I was delighted and grateful, of course," said Alexander, who has been at IUPUI since 2008 and with Purdue University for about 20 years. She was recognized in the veteran staff category.

In her addition to her staff role, Alexander also works with many school, student and campus organizations at IUPUI. She is the chair of the School of Science Diversity Council and advisor to the Biology Club. She also participates in many community activities to support the local ALS Association and Susan B. Komen Cancer Foundation.

The women were honored last week at the 15th annual Leadership Awards celebration, after being nominated by their peers for the quality of their work. The six include Dominique Galli and LaQuia Walker of the School of Dentistry, Marianne Wokeck of the School of Liberal Arts, Jane Alexander of the School of Science, Mansi Patel of the Center for Teaching and Learning, and Cathy Buyarski of University College.

Women's leadership award recipientsJane Alexander, pictured here on the far right, was honored during the March Women Leadership Awards.

The event, created in 1998, is a capstone event for Women’s History Month and is sponsored by the Office for Women and Student Life. Each year’s celebration includes a keynote speaker; this year’s guest was Lauren Christopher of the School of Engineering and Technology, who spent years building a successful career in the private sector (she holds several U.S. patents) before coming to IUPUI to teach.

The award categories and the recipients:

Veteran faculty: Dominique Galli and Marianne Wokeck.

Newcomer faculty: LaQuia Walker.

Veteran staff: Jane Alexander.

Newcomer staff: Mansi Patel.

Inspirational woman: Cathy Buyarski.

Among the administrators, Galli is the assistant vice chancellor for research in the dental school, Wokeck is the associate dean for academic affairs and Buyarski is the executive assistant dean in University College.

Galli also serves as an associate professor of oral biology, Wokeck is a Chancellor’s Professor of History, and Walker is a clinical assistant professor of pediatric dentistry.

Among the staffers honored, Patel is the communications and administrative specialist for the Center for Service and Learning.

Buyarski, the Inspirational Woman winner, oversees a wide range of student support services in University College, including academic advising, career development and student employment, among others.

Peer nominations focus on several categories of service and job performance, with those selected excelling in one or more of the following areas:

  • Commitment to teaching and/or service to students;
  • Commitment to IUPUI and its mission;
  • Commitment to serving others in the greater community;
  • Service as a role model for students, faculty or staff; and
  • Excellence in job performance or field of endeavor.