Physics Awards Presented at the 40th Annual Honors Convocation

Release Date: 
May 13 2014

INDIANAPOLIS-- Dozens of School of Science students, faculty and staff were recognized during the 40th annual Honors Convocation, honoring scholarship winners and outstanding students across all science departments. The event was held April 12 in downtown Indianapolis.

Associate Dean Kathy Marrs, also an associate professor of biology, served as the mistress of ceremonies. Dean Simon Rhodes made opening remarks, noting that the annual event serves as a celebratory occasion to honor students, faculty, staff and donors in one place: “Without the concerted efforts and determination of all four groups, the School of Science would not be what it is today.”

View the list of school awards.

The following Physics awards were issued:

  • University Physics Award: Alexander K. Bond, Electrical Engineering
  • Forrest Meiere Prize for an Outstanding Undergraduate Physics Major: Jason M. Walsman, Physics, Biology, Environmental Science, and Mathematics majors
  • D.J. Angus – Scientech Education Foundation Physics Scholarship: William M. Boler, Computer Engineering
  • Outstanding Graduate Student Award: Luis A. Palacio, Physics