Psychology Awards Presented at the 40th Annual Honors Convocation

Release Date: 
May 13 2014

INDIANAPOLIS-- Dozens of School of Science students, faculty and staff were recognized during the 40th annual Honors Convocation, honoring scholarship winners and outstanding students across all science departments. The event was held April 12 in downtown Indianapolis.

Associate Dean Kathy Marrs, also an associate professor of biology, served as the mistress of ceremonies. Dean Simon Rhodes made opening remarks, noting that the annual event serves as a celebratory occasion to honor students, faculty, staff and donors in one place: “Without the concerted efforts and determination of all four groups, the School of Science would not be what it is today.”

View the list of school awards.

The following Psychology awards were issued:

  • Robert G. Neel Award: Joshua T. East, Psychology and Neuroscience
  • Robert I. Long Award: Evgeny (Jenya) Chumin, Psychology
  • Psi Chi Scholarship: Andree B. Entezari, Psychology
  • John F. Kremer Undergraduate Mentor Award: Victoria R. MacLain, Psychology
  • Undergraduate Research Award: Michel A. Companion, Psychology and Neuroscience
  • Outstanding Student Teaching Awards
    • Undergraduate Student: Jessica L. Despard, Psychology
    • Graduate Student: Daniella Banno, Clinical Psychology
  • Clinical Psychology Award: Laura M. White, Clinical Psychology
  • Clinical Psychology Awards For Citizenship: Joseph G. Winger, Clinical Psychology
    • Honorable Mention: Samantha M. Meints, Clinical Psychology
  • Clinical Psychology Award For Research Excellence: Shannon M. Christy, Clinical Psychology
    • Honorable Mention: Tasneem Khambaty, Clinical Psychology
  • Paul J. McKinley Award: Liana M. Matson, Addiction Neuroscience
  • Outstanding Industrial & Organizational Psychology Graduate Student Award: Zhenyu Yuan, Industrial / Organizational Psychology
  • Outstanding Practicum Supervisor Award: Jenifer L. Vohs, Ph.D., Department of Psychiatry, IU School of Medicine