Psychology Professor Honored with Irwin Experience Excellence Award

Release Date: 
Sep 13 2013

Jane WilliamsJane R. Williams, Ph.D., associate professor in the Department of Psychology in the School of Science at IUPUI, has been honored with the 2013 Glenn W. Irwin Jr., M.D., Experience Excellence award. 

Williams’ commitment to not only the School of Science but also the larger campus community makes her a worthy recipient of this award, said School of Science Dean Simon Rhodes. The award honors Irwin, the second IUPUI chancellor (1973-1986) and former dean of the IU School of Medicine credited with guiding the university to unprecedented growth during his tenure.

“Dr. Williams is an outstanding member of our IUPUI community who truly goes above and beyond to improve all aspects of our mission,” Rhodes said. “She is highly respected by her faculty and staff colleagues and is regarded by her students as a remarkable teacher and mentor in the highly ranked industrial/organizational psychology programs.” 

In his nomination letter to IUPUI Chancellor Charles Bantz, Rhodes noted Williams’ commitment to serve as the interim chair of the Department of Psychology, her work to evaluate employee job descriptions and performance and the integral role she played in the recent strategic planning process for the School of Science. 

“I’ve had several opportunities to improve processes for students, faculty and staff at IUPUI, and my goal has always been to help make the university a better place in which to work and learn,” Williams said. “The service work I’ve been able to do has allowed me to connect with so many people that I otherwise would not have met. 

“I am honored that my colleagues and the university recognized the work that I just simply like to do,” she added.

Williams will be presented the Irwin Award on Wednesday, Sept. 18, during the Chancellor’s Employee Recognition Convocation on campus.