School of Science Celebrates Success of Top Students

Release Date: 
Mar 16 2011

It was standing room only at the First Annual Science Scholars Celebration. Over 300 students and guests were in attendance for the evening event on Friday March 4th at the Eugene and Marilyn Glick Indiana History Center. 

Overhead View of 2011 Science Scholars Celebration at the Indiana History Center

Student scholars and their guests pack Eli Lilly Hall at the Eugene and Marilyn Glick Indiana History Center for the 2011 Science Scholars Celebration.

View more photos of the event on Facebook.

This celebration honored the achievements of the Fall 2010 Dean’s List and Scholar’s List students in addition to 15 high school students enrolled in the Special Programs for Academic Nurturing (SPAN) program.

Faculty members and student groups were present to connect with parents and students about undergraduate research, student club participation, and other academic opportunities at IUPUI.  Campus organizations also represented at this event were the Center for Research and Learning, the Office of Service Learning and the Office of International Affairs Study Abroad program.

A ceremony followed the reception and featured words from School of Science Acting Dean Bart Ng, Executive Vice Chancellor and Dean of the Faculties Uday Sukhatme, and Biology student Adam Miller.

Of the total students enrolled in the School of Science, over 500 were granted the distinction of Dean's List or Scholar's list in the fall of 2010.

The School of Science is committed to excellence in teaching, research, and service in the biological, physical, behavioral and mathematical sciences. The School is dedicated to being a leading resource for interdisciplinary research and science education in support of Indiana's effort to expand and diversify its economy.