School of Science Awards: Students

Teaching Assistant Award
This award honors a teaching assistant for outstanding teaching and for demonstrating superior ability to impart knowledge to students for stimulating their desire to master these topics.

2011 winner: Caitlin M. Cavanaugh, Industrial Organizational Psychology
Chancellor’s Scholar Award
This award is granted on behalf of Charles R. Bantz, the Chancellor of Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis. It recognizes outstanding performance by students who have achieved the highest cumulative grade point average as determined by their School. Each year this distinguished award is only conferred upon twenty-four students campus-wide. Below is the 2011 recipient for the School of Science.
2011 winner: Matthew S. Rodgers, Chemistry
John D. Barnwell Memorial Scholarship
This scholarship is a tribute to Dr. John D. Barnwell who made significant contributions to science and teaching as well as music, literature, and poetry. It is awarded annually to a School of Science student who has effectively integrated both the sciences and arts into his or her undergraduate career.
2011 winner: Daniel B. Murphy, Mathematics and Economics
Frank G. and Ernestine M. Lambertus Scholarship
In 1990, Mrs. Ernestine Lambertus established an endowed scholarship in honor of her husband, Frank, who was an advisor to the dean. This scholarship is awarded to a student who shows significant academic improvement over the previous year.

2010-2011 winners:

  • Kathryn Annie Baugh, Mathematics Teaching
  • Nicholas A. Strang, Chemistry and Forensic & Investigative Sciences

2011-2012 winner: 

  • Brittany N. Fry, Psychology 
Robert W. Tuveson Memorial Scholarship
Established by Mary Ellen Tuveson and David L. Stocum in 1993, the Robert W. Tuveson Memorial Scholarship is awarded to a student majoring in the biological sciences. Consideration is given to academic performance and future promise.
2011 winner: Jacob D. DeWitt, Biology
D.J. Angus-Scientech Education Foundation Scholarship
In 1967, members of The Scientech Club formed the D.J. Angus-Scientech Education Foundation, which bears the name of an original member of the Club, to provide funding for programming that promotes science and engineering education. This scholarship is awarded to a science student who graduated from a central Indiana high school and who is in good academic standing while pursuing his or her first baccalaureate degree.
2011 winner: Jacob D. DeWitt Biology
The Indianapolis Project SEED Scholarships
For many years, Dr. Rosanne Bonjouklian has been an active mentor in the Indiana Section of the American Chemical Society Project SEED Summer Research Program for high school students. In 1999, she established this four-year renewable scholarship for former participants of the program.
2011 winners:
  • Vinayak A. Gupta, Biomedical Engineering 
  • David B. Gureki, Chemistry 
  • Kevin M. Line, Computer Engineering
  • Ngun HleiTial Nawlthang, Chemistry
  • Hlawn K. Tlem, Mathematics 
Dean of Science Scholars
The following students are among the new 2010-11 recipients of the prestigious Dean of Science Scholarship. These students are recognized for their academic excellence and future promise.
2011 winners: 
  • Jacob D. DeWitt, Biology
  • Brandon T. Kellinghaus, Biology
  • John S. Kraihanzel, Mathematics and Economics
  • Milad Pourrahmani, Physics 
Health and Life Sciences Scholars
The following students are among the new 2010-11 recipients of the prestigious Health and Life Sciences Scholarship. These students are recognized for their academic excellence and future promise.
  • Brett M. Barnes, Biology 
  • Matthew S. Rodgers, Chemistry
  • Cleandrea R. Spencer, Biology
  • Ashley R. Stobaugh, Biology